The 2017 MTV EMAs opened with Best Hip Hop winner Eminem doing a thrilling orchestra-backed performance, along with guest artist Skylar Grey, of his newly dropped track “Walk on Water,” taking the mic in a London pub before joining the EMA stage at The SSE Arena, Wembley.

Following, the audience saw global pop star and hometown hostess Rita Ora run through London’s streets to get to the show, with UK radio crew Kurupt FM of British sitcom “People Just Do Nothing” and a cameo from the Mayor of London himself.

Proving they’re the biggest band in the world, U2 performed “Get Out Of Your Own Way” from London’s historic Trafalgar Square and was honored with the night’s prestigious milestone award, Global Icon.

Best Pop winner Camila Cabello’s captivating and elaborate musical production featured a hugely choreographed routine that moved through three scenes and incorporated soaring overhead shots, ending in a Havana-style swimming pool.

Liam Payne got hearts racing with a steamy performance of “Strip That Down” featuring dancers in streetwear moving across an LED disco floor, while perched on hydraulics set to a spectacular LED light show.

Bold entrances were the theme for the night with Travis Scott flying in on the back of an animatronic bird over the audience for his performance of “Butterfly Effect,” while Stormzy arrived in a police car for his smash grime track “Big For Your Boots.”

The Killers performed “The Man” via a stripped down, stirring classic rock performance.

Shawn Mendes was crowned Best Artist and rocked his Best Song-winning track “There’s Nothing Holding Me Back” in an ever-evolving light box.

Host Rita Ora’s performance featured more than 50 dancers in an over-the-top medley of songs from her new album, “Your Song” and “Anywhere.”

Other artists delivering a mix of fan favorite tracks included Demi Lovato with her performance of “Sorry Not Sorry” and “Tell Me You Love Me,” and Kesha’s moving rendition of “Learn to Let Go.”

David Guetta closed the show with an electrifying performance of his new single “Dirty, Sexy, Money” with guests French Montana, and Charli XCX.

Later, Rita Ora was presented with the first-ever “MTV EMA Power of Music Award” honoring the charitable efforts on behalf of all the artists who responded to Grenfell.

Additionally, MTV recognized artists from around the globe with Worldwide Act awards and Best Local Act awards for multiple regions including Spain, The Netherlands, Japan and Nigeria. Worldwide Act recognizes those artists who have evolved their footprint and established their names beyond their local borders in 2017. They are selected from all the regional EMA award nominees by an international panel of MTV music executives.

At the close of show, Ora announced that the 2018 MTV EMAs would be held in Bilbao, Spain.

See complete list of winners and performances below.



BEST SONG: Shawn Mendes – There’s Nothing Holdin’ Me Back

BEST ARTIST: Shawn Mendes


BEST NEW: Dua Lipa

BEST POP: Camila Cabello

BEST VIDEO: Kendrick Lamar – HUMBLE

BEST LIVE: Ed Sheeran


BEST ROCK: Coldplay


BEST ALTERNATIVE: Thirty Seconds To Mars

BIGGEST FANS: Shawn Mendes

BEST PUSH: Hailee Steinfeld

BEST WORLD STAGE: The Chainsmokers – Live from Isle of MTV Malta 2017



Rita Ora – “Your Song,” “Anywhere”

Demi Lovato – “Sorry Not Sorry,” “Tell Me You Love Me”

Kesha – “Learn to Let Go”

Shawn Mendes – “There’s Nothing Holdin’ Me Back”

The Killers – “The Man”

Clean Bandit – “Miss You” ft. Julia Michaels, “Symphony” ft. Zara Larsson, “Rockabye” ft. Anne-Marie

Stormzy – “Big For Your Boots”

Camila Cabello – “Havana”

U2 – “Get Out of Your Own Way,” remote from Trafalgar Square

Eminem – “Walk on Water” ft. Skylar Grey

French Montana – “Unforgettable” ft. Swae Lee

Travis Scott – “Butterfly Effect”

David Guetta ft. Charli XCX, French Montana –“Dirty Sexy Money”

Liam Payne – “Strip That Down”



Lil’ Kleine – The Netherlands

Tangana – Spain

BabyMetal – Japan

ALMA – Finland

DaVido – Nigeria

Stormzy – UK & Ireland

Lali – Argentina


Worldwide Act category language:

Worldwide Act recognises those artists who have evolved their footprint and established their names beyond their local borders in 2017. They are selected from all the regional EMA award nominees by an international panel of MTV music executives.



Best UK & Ireland Act – Louis Tomlinson

Best Spanish Act – Miguel Bosé

Best Swiss Act – Mimiks

Best Swedish Act – Zara Larsson

Best MTV Russia Act – Ivan Dorn

Best Portuguese Act – Overule

Best Norwegian Act – Alan Walker

Best New Zealand Act – TAPZ

Best Polish Act – Dawid Kwiatkowski

Best LatAm Central Act – J Balvin

Best LatAm South Act – Lali

Best LatAm North Act – Mon Laferte

Best Dutch Act – Lil’ Kleine

Best Japan Act – BABYMETAL

Best Italian Act – Ermal Meta

Best Israeli Act – Noa Kirel

Best German Act – Wincent Weiss

Best Greater China Act – Huo Zun

Best India Act – Hard Kaur

Best Brasilian Act – Anitta

Best Danish Act – Christopher

Best French Act – Amir

Best Australian Act – Jessica Mauboy

Best Adria Act – Nicim Izazvan

Best African Act – DaVido

Best Hungarian Act – Magdolna Rúzsa

Best US Act – Fifth Harmony

Best Finnish Act – ALMA

Best Belgian Act – Loic Noittet

Best Canadian Act – Shawn Mendes

Best Korea Act – GFRIEND

Best SE Asia Act – James Reid


Check out and subscribe to get more updates and exclusives on #RockstarTV on leading TV channels and mobile networks in your country or online at: or









Images Courtesy of Viacom International Media Networks UK Limited © 2017 MTV Networks Europe




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s